This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL 481 - American Writers of the Progressive Era" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 481 - American Writers of the Progressive Era  

Professor Larry Oliver's Senior Seminar
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/ENGL481 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

 

RefWorks Login

RefWorks Log-in Name:

Password:

Create Account

Forgot Login?

 

Reforming fictions : Native, African, and Jewish American women's literature and journalism in the progressive era

Cover Art
Reforming Fictions - Carol J. Batker
ISBN: 0231118503
Publication Date: 2000-11-22

 

Introduction

Please remember, this is not comprehensive; and be sure to contact me for assistance as you encounter challenges along the way.  I am on Chat With Us every Tuesday evening from 6-10 pm.

 

Catalogs

Online Catalog LibCat includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold. Be aware that there are groups of materials not included in the catalog: many government documents and microform sets that we own may not appear in LibCat.

WorldCat Catalog of books and journals, the contents of over 14,000 research libraries, mainly in North America. Anything found on WorldCat that is not available in Evans Library can be ordered through Interlibrary Services or Get it for me.

CRLCATALOG (Center for Research Libraries). The Center for Research Libraries is a consortia headquartered at the University of Chicago. The consortia supports research and teaching in many fields including the liberal arts and humanities by acquiring and preserving newspapers, journals, and other types of documentary sources. Most materials can be requested through the TAMU Libraries' Get it for me service.

If we do not own what you need, you can request specific materials (books, journal articles, book chapters, etc.) by using the Get it for me link from the Libraries' web page, through WorldCat or various databases. In addition, if the book you want is at another campus library, Get it for me can deliver it to your preferred library on request.

 

 

 

Specialized Catalogs

  • Library of Congress catalog
  • Catalogs of ARL Libraries. The Association of Research Libraries is comprised of over 120 of the largest libraries in the United States and Canada. 
  • British Library Catalog lists over twelve million items in the British Library's outstanding collections.
  • COPAC is a union catalogue. It provides access to the merged online catalogues of 24 major university research libraries in the UK and Ireland, plus the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and the National Library of Wales/Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru.
  • Useful Guides and Reference Works

    MLA Literary Research Guide

     This is the online edition of Harner's Literary Research Guide.  Indispensable.

     

    Guide to Reference

    Guide to Reference is a selective guide to the best reference sources, organized by academic discipline.

    Literary Encyclopedia

    Entries in The Literary Encyclopedia are divided into three databases, People, Works and Topics & Events. All articles are aimed at a “higher introductory” level for university / college reading - neither too long nor too short; neither too simple nor too complex. We offer very good coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literatures as well as substantial and increasing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European. (Other major literatures to be added as resources permit.) So far we have published about 6528 completed articles, with a total of about 13.41 million words. We are currently adding around 40 articles to the Encyclopedia every month.

    • People - includes basic data on over 6920 people (2797 with full profiles), mainly writers, but also philosophers, scientists, artists, historical figures and others of note. You can browse a list of completed profiles.
    • Works - includes over 30816 works (3074 completed), mainly literary, but also historical, philosophical and scientific, which are indexed by date, genre and country. A large part of these are listed for bibliographical purposes, while others will be profiled as the Encyclopedia expands and develops. You can browse a list of completed profiles.
    • Topics & Events - lists 16482 historical and literary events, for which it provides 10979 short notes (comprising major acts of parliament, wars, battles, epidemic diseases scientific and technological inventions, cultural shifts, concepts etc.) and 657 major essays on literary, critical, philosophical and historical concepts, themes and events. You can browse the list of short notes or essays.

    Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

    Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

    Associate Professor

    Profile Image
    Rebecca Hankins
    Contact Info
    (979) 845-1951
    Send Email
     

    Getting Articles Delivered . . .

    You can set up a Get It For Me (Document Delivery Service) account to ask the
    library to:

    • Scan up to 50 pages for items not already available electronically
    • Request to borrow materials owned by other universities or research centers
    • Get items delivered to Evans from other campus libraries

    * The Libraries may send print materials through campus mail to faculty only. 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip