This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL 203 - Introduction to Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 203 - Introduction to Literature   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Aug 4, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/ENGL203 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

 

Find Us Online

Facebook Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Flikr Icon

University Writing Center

The University Writing Center is dedicated to helping "students learn to write and speak more effectively."

For hours, locations, and to make an appointment, visit them at:

http://writingcenter.tamu.edu/

 

Basics

The resources listed herein are merely starting points. The library can provide many more resources specific to a particular topic. Some of the sources below are library databases accessible from the Libraries’ homepage at http://library.tamu.edu. Simply type the name of any of the databases listed below in the “Find a Database” search-box, and then click “Locate”.

For further assistance, please contact the English Subject Specialist. 

 

Finding Books

LibCat, the TAMU Libraries' online catalog includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold.

WorldCat is a consortial online catalog system that includes the holdings for over 14,000 research libraries in the world, mainly North America.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

If we do not own what you need, you can request specific materials (books, journal articles, book chapters, etc.) by using the Get it for me link from the Libraries' web page, through WorldCat or various databases. In addition, if the book you want is at another campus library, Get it for me can deliver it to your preferred library on request.

 

MAJOR DATABASES FOR LITERATURE RESEARCH

The electronic resources listed herein are those most frequently used for research in English language and literature. There are many more valuable sources available in print from the Texas A&M University General Libraries. Access is available from anywhere in the tamu.edu domain (including campus, dial-up via TAMUnet or by using the proxy server).

MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY: Online 1920s - present
International coverage of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore indexed from over 4,000 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.

ANNUAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE  An electronic index of critical articles and book reviews on language and literature in English back to 1892. The print index of article citations on English language and literature covers published articles from 1920 to present.

WEB OF SCIENCE
Electronic version of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. Covers only the top journals of the included fields. Contains book reviews. Access to 1966.

WILSON PERIODICAL INDEXES
H. W. Wilson Co. publishes several indexes and databases of interest including: Humanities, Social Sciences, Book Review Digest, for scholarly materials, and the Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature for general interest topics. All Wilson databases can be searched individually or in combination (some browsers require the user to scroll down for all options). Electronic access for most Wilson resources only goes back to the 1980s. However, the "Reader's Guide Retrospective" and "Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective" both index popular and scholarly periodicals from the late 19th century and offer excellent access to primary source material for most of the 20th century.  NOTE: Please be aware that this link goes to the Wilson OmniFile as the default search. To search other Wilson indexes, de-select the OmniFile and select the desired resource(s). Other Wilson databases of note include:  

Book Review Digest Plus: online 1983 - present. Over 8000 books are covered by the database each year.

Essay & General Literature Index : online 1985 - present
Emphasizes the humanities and social sciences, and provides access to thousands of articles and essays. Subjects covered range from history, economics, psychology, religion and political science to folklore, film, music, drama, and literature.

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE: EBSCO
A general database similar to WilsonWeb. Covers general and scholarly periodicals for the past twenty-five years. Contains many full-text articles.

 

 

Getting Articles Delivered . . .

You can set up a Get It For Me (Document Delivery Service) account to ask the
library to:

  • Scan up to 50 pages for items not already available electronically
  • Request to borrow materials owned by other universities or research centers
  • Get items delivered to Evans from other campus libraries

* The Libraries may send print materials through campus mail to faculty only. 

Library Assistance

If you need additional assistance, please don’t hesitate to go the Evans Reference Desk for Help. They are located on the 1st floor of the Main Library building. You may also contact them via phone at 845-5741 or via email at lib-help@tamu.edu.

For more specialized assistance you can contact your Subject Specialist Librarian for Classics.

English and Classics Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Candace Benefiel
Contact Info
Office Phone: 979.862.1044
Send Email
 

Citing Sources

The library provides support for organizing and citing information in order to make writing papers and doing projects a little easier.

There is an introduction to Citing Sources and other basic information that faculty and students may need (like when to cite and when not to). In addition, there are a number of brief guides to citing in various styles including:

Bibliographic software can also help organize your sources and create a database for ongoing projects. These programs will also put sources into a specific format, one of those above or one created by the user. The Libraries provide assistance with a couple of these programs:  

 

RefWorks Login

RefWorks Log-in Name:

Password:

Create Account

Forgot Login?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip