Databases: General Starting Places
- Academic Search Complete: Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, full-text database.
- Business Source Complete: Comprehensive full-text business database indexing over 1200 business related journals.In addition scholarly articles, BSC contains case studies, industry reports, market research reports, and company profiles.
- Communication Source : This database combines two EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, to provide access to over 500 core journals in all areas of communication and journalism.
- Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection: Covers multiple aspects of Communication including journalism, mass communication, and television/film studies.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive : Contains archives for entertainment magazines from 1880-2000.
- JSTOR : Archive of historically important academic journals in science, social science, and humanities. Many articles are full-text.
MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY: Online 1920s - present
International coverage of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore indexed from over 4,000 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
A collection of electronic journals in the humanities and liberal arts. Unlike JSTOR, which has complete retrospective runs, MUSE holds current journal titles. The older issues of selected MUSE journals are electronically available through JSTOR.
Literature Resource Center provides access to full text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines the core literary databases Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Alternative Press Index: Indexes alternative news sources.
- Factiva : News from over 14,000 newspapers, magazines, and trade journals.
- Global NewsBank : Global News Sources.
- Library Press Display : (Current papers from around the world!).
- LexisNexis Academic is a full-text resource including newspapers as well as popular, trade and some scholarly publications in all areas from about 20 years to the present. LexisNexis Congressional, Statistical, and Government Periodicals are also databases offered by LexisNexis, providing access to congressional publications and statistical data.