This is the "Getting Started" page of the "CLAS 381 - Ancient Athletics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CLAS 381 - Ancient Athletics   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Aug 4, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/CLAS381 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

 

Basics

The resources listed herein are merely starting points. The library can provide many more resources specific to a particular topic. Some of the sources below are library databases accessible from the Libraries’ homepage at http://library.tamu.edu. Simply type the name of any of the databases listed below in the “Find a Database” search-box, and then click “Locate”.

For further assistance, please contact the Anthropology subject specialist or the Classics subject specialist.

 


The Library Catalog 

LibCat, the TAMU Libraries' online catalog includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold. Be aware that there are groups of materials not included in the catalog: many government documents and microform sets may not show.

Library of Congress Subject Headings
Below are some starting points for searching by subject in LibCat or any other library catalog (e.g., WorldCat)

Civilization, Classical dictionaries

Classical Dictionaries

 Athletics Greece History Athletics Greece Poetry
 Athletics History Athletics Rome
 Athletics Rome Bibliography Circus Rome
 Games Greece  Games History
 Games Rome  Olympic games Ancient
Athletics Greece Athens  Athletics Greece Bibliography


Databases/Indexes to Articles and Reviews 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index are part of the Web of Science, an online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on ancient Greek and Roman drama. The online versions go back to 1982 while the paper version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Z5931 .A78 goes back to 1975, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Z 7163.S6 extends back to 1956. Each citation includes a “cited references” list (to trace similar research back in time) and a “times cited” list (to trace similar research forward in time).

Humanities Abstracts Full Text : Contains abstracts for many humanities subject areas, including archaeology and folklore

Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Academic Search Complete

via EbscoHost provides the full-text of almost 3200 scholarly publications in social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.


Classics Databases

L'Annee philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquite greco-latine

This index covers all aspects of Classical studies, and although it is a French index, it covers many titles in English. Evans contains the print index at PA9 .A55.

Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia : Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. Consists of Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum : Online version of the CVA. Has advanced search capabilities

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae

: Digitized versions of all extant Greek texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium.


Electronic Journal Collections 

There are thousands of online journal titles to which the Library has access. Project Muse and JSTOR are electronic journal packages that include some journals that cover topics related to classics.


Selected Web Sites 

Here are just a few of many resources on the Internet to get you started. Don't forget to evaluate what you find to ensure it is a reliable source and appropriate for your research needs!


Greek and Roman Athletics - Selected Web Sites 

The Ancient Olympics Exhibit (Tufts): http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/Olympics/
In this exhibit, you can compare ancient and modern Olympic sports, tour the site of Olympia as it looks today, learn about the context of the Games and the Olympic spirit, or read about the Olympic athletes who were famous in ancient times.

Ancient Olympic Games Virtual Museum (Dartmouth): http://minbar.cs.dartmouth.edu/greecom/olympics/
The online museum presents an abundance of information on the ancient Olympics and on modern Greece, including an "Ask the Experts" section of interviews with Dartmouth professors.

Olympics Through Time (Foundation of the Hellenic World)
http://www.fhw.gr/projects/olympics/

The Real Story of the Ancient Olympic Games (UPenn) *Caution Fun
http://www.upenn.edu/museum/Olympics/olympicintro.html
A fun site of facts with comparisons between our modern day Olympics and the ancient games. Includes a glossary and some maps. (More popular than scholarly but a good little summary of the topic.)

Ancient Olympia (Hellenic Ministry of Culture): http://www.culture.gr/2/21/211/21107a/e211ga02.html
General information about the area and its history. Includes a link to more information about the origin of the Olympic games complete with photos of archeological sites and artwork.

Roman Gladiatorial Games (CUNY): http://depthome.brooklyn.cuny.edu/classics/gladiatr/
Good overview of the topic. Includes artwork, photos of historic sites, etc. Also includes commentary about the political and cultural significance of the games. Bibliography included.

Life in Roman Times – Entertainment (PBS):
http://www.pbs.org/empires/romans/empire/life.html
Background information (popular vs. scholarly) about circuses, gladiators, and chariot races. Links to other information about life in Roman times include information about religious practices, marriage and family life, home and hearth, the Roman baths, and more.

Roman Ball Games and Board Games (Personal):
http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/w/x/wxk116/romeball.html
http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/w/x/wxk116/roma/rbgames.html
Personal Web pages that include information about the ball games of trigon, harpastum, expulsim ludere, roman ball, and field hockey, as well as the board games of duodecim scripta, latrunculi, tessarae, tabula, and more. Includes bibliographies for more information.

Athenian Agora Excavations : http://www.agathe.gr/index.html

AMPHORAS Project : http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/cgi-bin/well

Beazley Archive : http://www.beazley.ox.ac.uk

Classics - Scholary Resources on the Internet (Princeton): http://www.princeton.edu/~rlindau/classweb.htm#schol

Classical Resources: http://webserver.sms.org/intranet/web_smsp/mdl-indx/internet.htm
Includes links to classical resources in art, architecture, entertainment, e-texts, mythology, journals, etc.

Greek ministry of Culture : http://www.culture.gr/2/21/toc/index.html

Perseus Digital Library: http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Oxford Roman Economy Project : http://oxrep.classics.ox.ac.uk

Encyclopedia  Mythica: http://www.pantheon.org/
This is an encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, magic, and more. It contains over 4,000 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. Among the topics covered are legendary animals such as unicorns and dragons; gods and goddesses from Greek, Japanese, and Etruscan religions; imaginative places such as Atlantis; and supernatural creatures such as gnomes, leprechauns, and fairies. The site may be browsed or searched. Among the mythologies covered are Chinese, Etruscan, Egyptian, Greek, Hatian, Japanese, Latvian, Mayan, Native American, Norse, Persian, Polynesian, Roman, and Welsh.

Classical Mythology: http://web.uflib.ufl.edu/cm/classics/Classical%20Mythology.htm
This site links to such helpful materials as a complete hyperlinked edition of Bulfinch’s Mythology.


Suggested Reference Resources 


Athena: Classical Mythology. This CD-ROM database is available for use in the Reference area. It provides brief summaries on most mythological characters, with links to summaries and full-text translations of many classical texts important to the study of myth, including works by Ovid, Homer, Virgil, Pindar, Hesiod, and Apollonius Rhodius.

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World.

Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2000. Map Room (Evans Library) Oversize G1033 .B3 2000

Cambridge Ancient History D57 .C252 1970

Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. NY: Oxford University Press, 1993.  PA31 .H69 1993

Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology. Reference DE5 .E5 1996

Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis. DF222.2 H36

Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae. DG63 .L49 1993

The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd edition revised. Reference DE5 .O9 2003.

Tripp, Edward. Crowell's Handbook of Classical Mythology. Evans Reference BL303 .T75 1970.

Zimmerman, J. E. A Dictionary of Classical Mythology. This dictionary often gives citations to ancient sources for major stories, and also provides a handy pronunciation guide. Evans Reference BL715 .Z5

Paulys Real-encyclopadie der classicschen Altertumswissenschaft Interim Shelving DE5 P33 1958

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. Reference DE59 .P7 1976


Selected Literary Resources

 Austin, M.M and P. Vidal-Naquet. 1977. Economic and Social History of Ancient Greece. HC 37 .A8813 1977a

Austin, M.M. 1981. The Hellenistic World from Alexander to the Roman Conquest: A Selection of Ancient Sources in Translation. DF235 .A1 H44.

Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. PA31 .H69 1993.

Crawford, M. and D. Whitehead. 1983. Archaic and Classical Greece: A Selection of Ancient Sources in Translation. DF12 .C7 1983

Loeb Classical Library
Copies are available in the Evans Library stacks. Greek texts, all bound in green start at call number PA 3611 .A11; the red-bound Latin texts begin with call number PA6156 .A.


Library Assistance 

If you need additional assistance, please don’t hesitate to go the Evans Reference Desk for Help. They are located on the 1st floor of the Main Library building. You may also contact them via phone at 845-5741 or via email at lib-help@tamu.edu.

For more specialized assistance you can contact your Subject Specialist Librarian for Classics.

English and Classics Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Candace Benefiel
Contact Info
Office Phone: 979.862.1044
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip