Where are textbooks?
Check the Course Reserves system; see our Textbooks guide for more possibilities.
Library Links
Biomedical Engineering Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Vol. 1 Fundamentals
Call Number: R856.15 .S731 2009eb
ISBN: 0071498389
Biomedical Engineering and Design, Vol. 2, Applications
Call Number: R856.15 .S732 2009eb
ISBN: 9780071498395
Publication Date: 2009-06-22
Numerical Methods in Biomedical Engineering
Call Number: R857 .M34 N86 2006
ISBN: 0121860310
Publication Date: 2006
Print edition also available.
Statistics for bioengineering sciences with MATLAB and WinBUGS support
Call Number: HA29 V53 2011eb
ISBN: 9781461403944
Publication Date: 2011
FE Study Guides
Suggest a Resource (book, database, journal, website, etc.)
Feedback
Welcome, On this page...
This Getting Started page has brief listings of the most important resources for Biomedical Engineering; use the tabs across the top for expanded lists of resources, and search tips & tutorials.
The Table of Contents for this page:
- Article databases/indexes
- Reference Titles
- (General) Biomedical Reference
- Biomedical Engineering Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Computing Applications Reference
- Engineering & Materials Science Reference
- Links
- Academic
- Associations & Professional Societies
- Career & Educational Resources
- Federal & Regulatory Agencies
- Suggest a Resource
Article Databases
Search article indexes/databases; use the Find Text@TAMU link (or the ChemPort link in SciFinder) for text retrieval options.
- Compendex (Ei Village 2)
Indexes the journal and conference literature of all fields of engineering. - IEEE eXplore
- Medline (PubMed)

- Medline (Ebsco interface)

- SciFinderFrom the American Chemical Society, the largest index for chemistry & materials science articles and data. You will need to create your own individual log in to the web interface. Use the ChemPort link to access options for full-text retrieval.
- ProQuest SciTech Collection
Formerly known as Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, this group of databases covers biotechnology, biomedical sciences, engineering and technology, and materials science. - Web of Science
Cited reference search is used in this database to track how many cites to a given work. Search by topic keywords, then sort the results by times cited to see the most influential papers on a topic.
Biomedical Reference
- Anatomy.TVInteractive 3D human anatomy
- Anatomy Videos: MedlinePlus
- Medical DictionariesLibCat subject headings browse for medicine-dictionaries
- A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia
- Merck IndexPharmaceuticals, drugs, biologicals, biomolecules
- AccessMedicineMedical textbooks
- StatRefMedical textbooks
- Surgery Videos: Medlineplus
- Surgery Video Library: Society for Biomaterials
Computing Applications Reference
Engineering & Materials Science Reference
Links
- Academic
- Texas A&M Biomedical Engineering
- TAMU Engineering Student Services and Academic Programs (ESSAP)
- Beyond the BeakersAn NSF-sponsored guidebook that provides practical advice about how to plan for an exciting career as a Ph.D. scientist. Written by Dr. Gayle Slaughter of Baylor College of Medicine, "Beyond the Beakers" covers such topics as finding research and work experiences, maximizing your GRE scores, finding mentors, and basic skills for becoming an effective scientist.
- ABETThe Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology is a federation of 30 professional and technical societies for the accreditation of educational progams, and the promotion and advancement of education, in applied science, computing, engineering, and technology.
- Associations and Societies
- AIMBE | American Institute for Medical & Biological Engineering
- biomat.net | the biomaterials network
- BMES | Biomedical Engineering Society
- BMES TAMU student chapter
- EWH | Engineering World Health
- EWH TAMU chaper
- IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society: Home
- TAMU student chapters IEEE
- Institute of Biological Engineering
- Society for Biomaterials
- SPIE | the international society for optics and photonics
- Career and Educational Resources
- TAMU Career Center
- Texas A&M University Biomedical Engineering Society JobsCareer resource for members of TAMU BMES.
- ASEE.org - ASEE - Publications - College Profiles - Search the ProfilesProfiles of college and university engineering schools and degree programs responding to the American Society for Engineering Education annual survey.
- Engineers, from Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2010-2011Overview of the profession and career of engineering and its sub-specialities; links to data on wages and employment, outlook for future.
- O'NET Online Summary Report for Biomedical EngineersDescription of duties, knowledge, and skill sets for the career of biomedical engineering.
- Biomedical Engineers Occupational Employment and Wages, May 2010From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Labor
- Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Exam PreparationInformation from the TAMU Engineering Student Services about the Fundamentals of Engineering examination, which is the first step in licensure as a professional engineer (PE).
- BMEnet: jobSign up to receive job listings from BMEnet and other organizations and publications.
- Federal and Regulatory Agencies
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration Medical Devices portal

- NIBIB | National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
- NIST Medical Devices Portal
- NIST Bioscience & Health PortalNational Institute of Standards and Technology. Subject areas include biomanufacturing, Diagnostics, Medical Devices, Nanotech/Enviromental Health, Environment & Safety, Standard Reference Materials, etc.
Science/Engineering Sr Lecturer |

Submit

Loading...
