Important Research Concepts and Resources
Citing Your Sources: Use to identify various style manuals and how to cite sources. *See also course syllabus*
CORS Cushing's Online Request System
- ARCHON is a digital database of material in Cushing’s collections.
- TARO Texas Archival Resources Online
International Center for Academic Integrity: Texas A&M University is a member of this organization that works to identify, affirm, and promote the values of academic integrity among students, faculty, teachers, and administrators.
LibCat is the catalog of books and journals in the library.
RefWorks:Citation and Sharing tool
University Writing Center: Supports writing and public speaking for graduate and undergraduate students across the university, with particular emphasis on supporting W and C courses in the undergraduate curriculum.
What is a Primary Resource Taken from the Society of American Archivists glossary of terms, SAA defines primary sources and provides examples of these resources.
This guide provides access and assistance for finding books, articles and other information on Arabic and Middle Eastern subjects. Please feel free to submit any revisions or additions to Rebecca Hankins, email@example.com, 979-845-1951.
Resources for Arabic/Middle Eastern Studies:
- JSTOR and Project Muse
- Index Islamicus
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebsco)
- TAMU Digital Library-Repository
- Center for Research Libraries-Global Resources Network
- WorldCat (FirstSearch)
- Library of Arabic Literature
Online dictionaries and language tools
- Farsi Dictionary: http://www.farsidic.com/
- Persian Verb Conjugator: http://jahanshiri.ir/pvc/pvc.php
- Arabic Language Charts
- The Arabic-English-Arabic dictionary-Bab.La interactive language portal
Arabic/English language magazines and journals
- Bidoun-quarterly on Middle Eastern art and culture.
- Canvas-print journal on Arab/Middle Eastern art and culture.
- Islamica-published by the London School of Economics (ceased publishing in 2009)
- Jerusalem Studies in Arabic and Islam-Hebrew University
- Saudi Aramco World-Arab culture and science (formerly Aramco world)
- Selection of Islamic Periodicals available via Libcat.
Middle Eastern Studies Databases
Credo Reference- English Dictionaries