This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ANTH 613 - Classical Seafaring" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANTH 613 - Classical Seafaring   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/ANTH613 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Regular Chat Hours

 

Basics

The resources listed herein are merely starting points. The library can provide many more resources specific to a particular topic. Some of the sources below are library databases accessible from the Libraries’ homepage at http://library.tamu.edu. Simply type the name of any of the databases listed below in the “Find a Database” search-box, and then click “Locate”.

For further assistance, please contact the Anthropology subject specialist or the Classics subject specialist.

 


The Library Catalog 

LibCat, the TAMU Libraries' online catalog includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold. Be aware that there are groups of materials not included in the catalog: many government documents and microform sets may not show.

Library of Congress Subject Headings
Below are some starting points for searching by subject in LibCat.

Civilization, Classical dictionaries

Archaeology—Greece

Classical Dictionaries

Classical antiquities

Classical literature dictionaries

Classical antiquities—Bio-bibliography

Classical literature

Classical antiquities—Periodicals

Encyclopedias and dictionaries, Greek

Shipwrecks

Encyclopedias and dictionaries, Latin

Underwater archaeology


Databases/Indexes to Articles and Reviews 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index are part of the Web of Science, an online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on ancient Greek and Roman drama. The online versions go back to 1982 while the paper version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Z5931 .A78 goes back to 1975, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Z 7163.S6 extends back to 1956. Each citation includes a “cited references” list (to trace similar research back in time) and a “times cited” list (to trace similar research forward in time).

Humanities Abstracts Full Text : Contains abstracts for many humanities subject areas, including archaeology and folklore

Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Academic Search Complete

via EbscoHost provides the full-text of almost 3200 scholarly publications in social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.


Anthropology/Archaeology Databases

Annual Reviews(See: Annual Review of Anthropology)

Anthropological Literature

: Contains almost 600,000 citations for books, essays, and articles in all fields of anthropology

Anthropology Review Database

: Dedicated to archiving anthropology book reviews. Does not contain links to full text

Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) Collection of Archaeology for the library's tutorial on using eHRAF, visit here


Classics Databases

L'Annee philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquite greco-latine

This index covers all aspects of Classical studies, and although it is a French index, it covers many titles in English. Evans contains the print index at PA9 .A55.

Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia : Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. Consists of Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum : Online version of the CVA. Has advanced search capabilities

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae

: Digitized versions of all extant Greek texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium.


Electronic Journal Collections 

There are thousands of online journal titles to which the Library has access. Project Muse and JSTOR are electronic journal packages that include some journals that cover topics related to classics.


Selected Web Sites 

Here are just a few of many resources on the Internet to get you started. Don't forget to evaluate what you find to ensure it is a reliable source and appropriate for your research needs!

Athenian Agora Excavations : http://www.agathe.gr/index.html

AMPHORAS Project : http://projects.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/project.html

Beazley Archive : http://www.beazley.ox.ac.uk

Classical Resources: http://webserver.sms.org/intranet/web_smsp/mdl-indx/internet.htm
Includes links to classical resources in art, architecture, entertainment, e-texts, mythology, journals, etc.

Greek ministry of Culture : http://www.culture.gr/

Perseus Digital Library: http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/

Oxford Roman Economy Project : http://oxrep.classics.ox.ac.uk

 


Suggested Reference Resources 

 

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2000. Map Room (Evans Library) Oversize G1033 .B3 2000

Cambridge Ancient History D57 .C252 1970

Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. NY: Oxford University Press, 1993.  PA31 .H69 1993

Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology. Reference DE5 .E5 1996

Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis. DF222.2 H36

Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae. DG63 .L49 1993

The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd edition revised. Reference DE5 .O9 2003.

Paulys Real-encyclopadie der classicschen Altertumswissenschaft Interim Shelving DE5 P33 1958

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. Reference DE59 .P7 1976


Selected Literary Resources

 Austin, M.M and P. Vidal-Naquet. 1977. Economic and Social History of Ancient Greece. HC 37 .A8813 1977a

Austin, M.M. 1981. The Hellenistic World from Alexander to the Roman Conquest: A Selection of Ancient Sources in Translation. DF235 .A1 H44.

Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. PA31 .H69 1993.

Crawford, M. and D. Whitehead. 1983. Archaic and Classical Greece: A Selection of Ancient Sources in Translation. DF12 .C7 1983

Loeb Classical Library
Copies are available in the Evans Library stacks. Greek texts, all bound in green start at call number PA 3611 .A11; the red-bound Latin texts begin with call number PA6156 .A.

Meijer, F. and O. Van Nijf. 1992. Trade, Transport, and Society in the Ancient World: A SourcebookHF373 .M45 1992

Meiggs, R. and D. Lewis 1999. A Selection of Greek Historical Inscriptions to the End of the Fifth Century B.C. DF209.5 .G65 1985.

Tod, M. 1985. Greek Historical Inscriptions: From the Sixth Century B.C. to the Death of Alexander the Great in 323 B.C. DF209.5 .G65 1985.

  

 


Archaeological Resources

Biers, W. 1992. Art, Artefacts, and Chronology in Classical Archaeology. DE60 .B48

Hayes, J. 1997. Handbook of Mediterranean Roman Pottery. DE61 .P66 H39 1997

Illsley, J. 1996. An Indexed Bibliography of Underwater Archaeology and Related Topics.

Morrison, J.S. and R.T. Williams. 1968. Greek Oared Ships: 900-322 B.C.

Parker, A.J. 1992. Ancient Shipwrecks of the Mediterranean & the Roman Provinces.

Bulletin de Correspondance Hellinique (Chronique des Fouilles en Grece) DF10 .B9


Library Assistance 

If you need additional assistance, please don’t hesitate to go the Evans Reference Desk for Help. They are located on the 1st floor of the Main Library building. You may also contact them via phone at 845-5741 or via email at lib-help@tamu.edu.

For more specialized assistance you can contact your Subject Specialist Librarian for Classics.

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Stephen Bales
Contact Info
111R Sterling C. Evans Library
(979) 845-1036
sbales@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip